Something that as a parent is likely to happen to you or has happened to you before.

Child: Mum (dad), I want a new scooter !!!

Parent: But you already have a scooter!

Child: But mum (dad) is a Razor. It's for the little ones!

Parent: Are there other types of scooters?

The child: A pro scooter (Pro scooter) mom! A pro Scoot. You don't know anything! :-)

Are you familiar with this situation? We are here to help you! At Scootersk8, we have children and we've been there!

Buying guide

The sport of the freestyle scooter has taken off over the past decade. Children all over the world have sought to join this very popular new sport. This buying guide will break down the individual components of a scooter and explain their functionality. You will be better informed in order to buy your scooter or that of your child.

The components of a scooter.

There are 8 main components for a professional scooter. Chainring (deck), Handlebars (bar), Forks (Fork), Wheels, Clamps (clamp), Headsets (headset), Compression and Brake.

Deck (deck)

The deck of a professional scooter is the most important component of your scooter. The tops are available in different lengths, widths, concaves and styles. The decks are built in one piece. The board is the main room in which the rest of the scooter will be built. It is therefore important to choose your deck well. The ideal chainring for you should be designed to give you a well-balanced, performance feel under your feet. It should also be resistant to daily impact and abuse. The vast majority of high end scooter decks on the market today are made with aircraft grade aluminum to ensure a lightweight and durable design.

Handlebar (bar)

The choice of handlebars for your scooter is very personal. The handlebars, however, will determine the type of feel your scooter will give you. The dimensions of the handlebars depend on your personal preferences, as it does on your riding style. The majority of professional scooter handlebars are made of tubular steel. Aluminum tube handlebars are also quite common. The standard diameter of a scooter handlebar is 31.9mm. The majority of scooters use an oversized bar, with a diameter of 34.9mm.

Fork

The fork connects your handlebars, chainring and front wheel. The compression system is necessary for the fork to attach firmly to the handlebars. Most high-end scooters use a threadless fork to ensure maximum strength and performance.

Wheels

Most wheels will be 100mm or 110mm in size. The size chosen by the rider is a personal preference. The advantages of choosing a larger wheel size are that the wheel spins faster and smoother. Important: you must choose the correct wheel size for your fork.

Clamp (clamp)

The clamp on a scooter is the collar that securely holds the handlebars and the fork together. Most professional scooter clamps on the market today are available as double, triple and quadruple clamps. Each name refers to the number of bolts each clamp is equipped with.

Headset

Headset is another essential component to the overall performance of your scooter. Each headset consists of bearings, bearing cups, fork race and top cap. High-end scooters will have a sealed headset that requires a threadless fork and a compression system. The difference between integrated and non-integrated headsets is that integrated headsets provide bearing cups already installed in the head tube, which provides a much better fit for the headset and will ensure perfect alignment for smoother fork rotation. .

Compression system

The compression system is the system that holds your handlebars and fork together on your chainring. Advanced scooter riders will use the compression systems: HIC (Hidden Internal Compression), ICS (Inverted Compression System) and SCS (Standard Compression System). These compression systems offer more stability, durability and performance compared to threaded fork systems.

Brake

It is present but young people do not use it :-)

The brake is attached to the back of the scooter with a bolt or screw, depending on the model. The majority of scooter riders use a flexible or spring brake. More advanced riders will use a flexible brake because of its high level of performance.

We hope this guide will help you see things more clearly. Investing from the start in a high-end professional scooter is more profitable than buying parts that are cheaper and tend to break more quickly, which will end up being more expensive. If this is your first time buying scooter parts or you or your child is new to the sport, you may want to consider purchasing a complete (complete) scooter, these type of scooters are pre- assembled.

Une situation qu’en tant que parents, vous arrivera probablement ou qui vous ai déjà arrivée.

L’enfant: Maman (papa), je veux une nouvelle trottinette!!!

Parent: Mais tu as déjà une trottinette!

L’enfant: Mais maman (papa) c’est une Razor. C’est pour les touts petits!

Parent: Y a-t-il d’autres types de trottinettes?

L’enfant: Une trottinette de pro (Pro scooter) maman! Une Scoot de pro. Tu ne connais rien! :-)

Cette situation vous est familière? Nous sommes là pour vous aider! Chez Scootersk8, nous avons des enfants et nous avons passés par là!

Guide d'achat

Le sport de la trottinette freestyle a pris son envol au cours de la dernière décennie. Les enfants du monde entier ont cherché à joindre ce nouveau sport très populaire. Ce guide d'achat décomposera les composantes individuelles d'une trottinette et expliquera leurs fonctionnalités. Vous serez ainsi mieux informé en vue de l’achat de votre trottinette ou celle de votre enfant.

Les composantes d’une trottinette.

Il y a 8 composantes principales pour une trottinette professionnelle. Plateau (deck), Guidon (bar), Fourches (Fork), Roues, Colliers de serrage (clamp), Jeux de direction (headset), Compression et le Frein.

 

Plateau (deck)

Le plateau (deck) d’une trottinette professionnelle est le composant le plus important de votre trottinette. Les plateaux sont disponibles en différentes longueurs, largeurs, concaves et styles. Les decks sont bâties en une seule pièce. Le plateau est la pièce principale dans laquelle le reste la trottinette sera construite. Il est donc important de bien choisir son deck. Le plateau idéal pour vous doit être conçu pour vous donner une sensation bien équilibrée et de performance sous vos pieds. Il doit aussi être résistant aux chocs et abus d’utilisation quotidiens. La grande majorité des plateaux de trottinette haut de gamme sur le marché aujourd'hui sont fabriquées avec de l'aluminium de qualité aéronautique afin d’assurer une conception légère et durable.

 

Guidon (bar)

Le choix du guidon pour votre trottinette est très personnel. Le guidon déterminera toutefois le type de sensation que votre trottinette vous procurera. Les dimensions du guidon dépendent de vos préférences personnelles, tout comme de votre style de rider. La majorité des guidons de trottinette professionnelle sont fabriquées en tube d'acier. Les guidons en tube d'aluminium sont également assez courants. Le diamètre standard d'un guidon de trottinette est de 31.9mm. La majorité des scooters utilisent une barre surdimensionnée (oversized), avec un diamètre de 34.9mm.

 

Fourche

La fourche relie votre guidon, votre plateau et votre roue avant. Le système de compression est nécessaire pour que la fourche se fixe fermement au guidon. La plupart des trottinettes haut de gamme utilisent une fourche sans filetage pour assurer une résistance et des performances maximales.

 

Roues

La plupart des roues auront une dimension de 100mm ou 110mm. La taille choisie par le rider est une préférence personnelle. Les avantages à choisir une taille de roue plus grande est que la roue tourne plus vite et plus doucement. Important : vous devez choisir la bonne taille de roue pour votre fourche.

 

Collier de serrage (clamp)

La clamp d’une trottinette est le collier qui maintient solidement le guidon et la fourche ensemble. La plupart des clamps pour trottinettes professionnelles sur le marché aujourd'hui sont disponibles en tant que pinces doubles, triples et quadruples. Chaque nom fait référence au nombre de boulons dont chaque pince est équipée.

 

Jeu de direction (headset)

Le jeu de direction est une autre composante essentielle à la performance globale de votre trottinette. Chaque headset se compose de roulements, de cuvettes de roulement, de chemin de fourche et de capuchon supérieur. Les scooters haut de gamme auront un headset scellé qui nécessite une fourche sans filetage et un système de compression. La différence entre les headsets intégrés et non intégrés est que les headsets intégrés fournissent des cuvettes de roulement déjà installées dans le tube de direction, ce qui offre un bien meilleur ajustement pour le headset et assurera un alignement parfait pour une rotation plus douce de la fourche.

 

Système de compression

Le système de compression est le système qui maintient votre guidon et votre fourche ensemble sur votre plateau. Les riders de trottinettes avancées utiliseront les systèmes de compression : HIC (Hidden Internal Compression), ICS (Inverted Compression System) et SCS (Standard Compression System). Ces systèmes de compression offrent plus de stabilité, de durabilité et de performance par rapport aux systèmes de fourches filetées.

 

Frein

Il est présent mais les jeunes ne l’utilisent pas :-)

Le frein est fixé à l'arrière de la trottinette avec un boulon ou une vis, selon le modèle. La majorité des riders de trottinette utilisent un frein flexible ou à ressort. Les riders plus avancés utiliseront un frein flexible en raison de son haut niveau de performance.

 

Nous espérons que ce guide vous aidera à y voir plus clair. Investir dès le départ dans une trottinette professionnelle haut de gamme est plus rentable que d’acheter des pièces moins chères et qui auront tendances à se briser plus rapidement, ce qui reviendra plus cher à la fin. Si c'est la première fois que vous achetez des pièces de trottinette ou que vous ou votre enfant débute dans le sport, vous voudrez peut-être envisager l’achat d’une trottinette complètes (completes), ce type de trottinettes sont pré-assemblés.